Play Fantasy Use your Fantasy skills to win Cash Prizes. Join or start a league today. Play Now
Blog Entry

College Football Hall of Fame inductees announced

Posted on: May 17, 2011 12:22 pm
Posted by Jerry Hinnen

We already knew Lloyd Carr and Eddie George had made it. But the National Football Foundation today announced the other 13 players and one coach that have also been elected to the College Football Hall of Fame for the 2011 class.

Here they are, listed alphabetically with a short bio from the original 2011 Hall of Fame ballot:

Carlos Alvarez, wide receiver, Florida

1969 consensus First Team All-America and ranks as Florida’s all-time career leader with 2,563 receiving yards. . . Two-time All-SEC, setting eight conference records in 1969. . . First Team Academic All-American.

Fisher DeBerry, coach, Air Force

Coached 1984-2006 ... Winningest coach in Air Force history, leading Falcons to three conference championships. . . Led Air Force to 12 post-season berths and three-time conference Coach of the Year. . . Named National Coach of the Year in 1985, coaching 16 All-Americans, 127 All-Conference players and 11 Academic All-Americans.

Doug English, defensive tackle, Texas

Member of three bowl teams, including 1973 Cotton Bowl championship team. . . Two-time All-SWC selection. . . Member of two Southwest Conference championship teams (1972, 73). . . Averaged 10 tackles per game.

Bill Enyart, fullback, Oregon State

Named First Team All-America in 1968. . .Set school record with 1,304 rushing yards and 17 touchdowns in 1968. . .1968 Hula Bowl MVP and two-time First Team All-Conference selection (1967-68).

Marty Lyons, defensive tackle, Alabama

1978 consensus First Team All-America who led team to 1978 National Championship at Sugar Bowl. . .Helped team to four consecutive bowl wins and three conference championships. . .1978 SEC Defensive Player of the Year.

Russell Maryland, defensive tackle, Miami

1990 unanimous First Team All-America selection and Outland Trophy winner. . .Led Miami to four consecutive bowl berths and national championships in 1987 and 1989. . .Registered 45-3-0 record during career.

Deion Sanders, cornerback, Florida State

Two-time unanimous First Team All-America in 1987 and 1988. . . 1988 Jim Thorpe Award winner. . . Returned four interceptions for touchdowns in career. . . Holds school records for most punt return yards in a season and in a career.

Jake Scott, defensive back, Georgia

Named consensus First Team All-America in 1968. . . 1968 SEC Most Valuable Player. . . Twice led the SEC in interceptions and still holds the SEC record with two interceptions returned for a touchdown in a single game.

Will Shields, offensive guard, Nebraska

1992 unanimous First Team All-America and 1992 Outland Trophy winner. . .Key to three Huskers’ NCAA rushing titles (1989, ’91, ’92). . .Led team to four bowl berths and back-to-back Big Eight titles in 1991 and 1992.

Sandy Stephens, quarterback, Minnesota

1961 consensus First Team All-America who led team to 1960 National Championship and back-to-back Rose Bowl berths. . . Nation’s first African-American All-America QB and 1961 Big Ten MVP. . . Fourth in 1961 Heisman voting.

Darryl Talley, linebacker, West Virginia

Named unanimous First Team All-America in 1982. . .Considered the most prolific tackler in school history holding the school’s record for career tackles (484). . .Member of the WVU Sports Hall of Fame.

Clendon Thomas, running back, Oklahoma

Led Sooners in scoring during two seasons (1956-1957) as part of 47-game winning streak ... Won two national titles under Bud Wilkinson ... in 1957 was named consensus All-American, finished ninth in Heisman Trophy balloting

Rob Waldrop, defensive lineman, Arizona

Two-time First Team All-America, garnering consensus honors in ’92 and unanimous laurels in ’93. . . Winner of Bednarik, Nagurski and Outland awards and Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year (1993). . .Led Cats to three bowl berths.

Gene Washington, wide receiver, Michigan State

First Team All-America who led State to back-to-back national championship seasons (1965-66) and undefeated season in ‘66. . . Led MSU to consecutive Big Ten titles. . . Led team in receptions for three-straight seasons.


Since: Oct 6, 2009
Posted on: May 18, 2011 4:54 pm

College Football Hall of Fame inductees announced

Touchdown Tommie got robbed! How the hell does avoid the Loyd Carr get in before Frazier???

Since: Oct 31, 2006
Posted on: May 18, 2011 1:50 pm
This comment has been removed.

Post Deleted by Administrator

Since: Feb 27, 2011
Posted on: May 18, 2011 12:11 pm

College Football Hall of Fame inductees announced

With 13 inductees, I don't know what the voting criteria is, however, I agree, there have to be some names left off the list and how do you leave them off? I also agree with the ones on the list. That is a great group of players and coaches.

Since: Mar 29, 2008
Posted on: May 18, 2011 12:18 am

College Football Hall of Fame inductees announced

How does Tommie Frazier not get in? He only led Nebraska to two NC's won three MVP awards in national championship games. Started 4 years and only lost 3 games. He was the best option QB ever. I guess he needed more 1995 Florida players voting!

Since: Mar 20, 2011
Posted on: May 17, 2011 11:19 pm

College Football Hall of Fame inductees announced

Congrats to National Champion Lloyd Carr

Since: Feb 11, 2009
Posted on: May 17, 2011 3:33 pm

College Football Hall of Fame inductees announced

Any time should one gets into a HOF, I get very happy for them.  Good for all of you and hopefully you realize we enjoyed what you did as much as you did doing it

Since: Aug 5, 2008
Posted on: May 17, 2011 1:40 pm

College Football Hall of Fame inductees announced

Great looking class.  Definitely glad to see George, Shields, Talley and Sanders on this list.

The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or