Blog Entry

Mackey Award watch list released

Posted on: July 6, 2011 1:19 pm
Edited on: July 6, 2011 1:31 pm
Posted by Tom Fornelli

It's Watch List Week in college football as the games most prominent postseason awards have begun releasing their preseason watch lists. Yesterday we found out who to keep an eye on for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards, and on Wednesday we've got the 34 candidates for the John Mackey Award.

The John Mackey Award is given annually by the Nassau County Sports Commission to the nation's best tight end. The award is named for John Mackey, the former Syracuse tight end and NFL Hall of Famer with the Baltimore Colts. Last year's recipient was Arkansas tight end D.J. Williams.

Dwayne Allen, Clemson, Jr
Brandon Barden, Vanderbilt, Sr
Tim Biere, Kansas, Sr
Ted Bolser, Indiana, So
George Bryan, NC State, Sr
Orson Charles, Georgia, Jr
Josh Chichester, Louisville, Sr
Jack Doyle, Western Kentucky, Jr
Drake Dunsmore, Northwestern, Sr
Kyle Efaw, Boise St, Sr
Michael Egnew, Missouri, Sr
Tyler Eifert, Notre Dame, So
Rhett Ellison, USC, Sr
Coby Fleener, Stanford, Sr
Ladarius Green, Louisiana, Sr
Ryan Griffin, Connecticut, Jr
Joe Halahuni, Oregon State, Sr
Cooper Helfet, Duke, Sr
D.C. Jefferson, Rutgers, Jr
Kevin Koger, Michigan, Sr
Eric Lair, Minnesota, Sr
Brian Linthicum, Michigan State, Sr
Philip Lutzenkirchen, Auburn, Jr
Anthony Miller, Cal, Sr
Chris Pantale, Boston College, Jr
David Paulson, Oregon, Sr
Colter Phillips, Virginia, Jr
Nick Provo, Syracuse, Sr
Lucas Reed, New Mexico, Jr
Kyler Reed, Nebraska, Jr
Evan Rodriguez, Temple, Sr
Jake Stoneburner, Ohio State, Jr
Michael Williams, Alabama, Jr
Luke Wilson, Rice, Jr 

Since: Oct 22, 2006
Posted on: July 10, 2011 1:35 am

Mackey Award watch list released

might as well put whoever wins the starting tight end position for arkansas on here petrino utilizes his tight ends very well. whoever is arkansas' tight end will put up big numbers!!

The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or