Blog Entry

2011 Rimington Trophy watch list released

Posted on: July 13, 2011 2:21 pm
Edited on: July 13, 2011 2:21 pm
Posted by Tom Fornelli

The Rimington Trophy preseason watch list was released on Wednesday afternoon by the Rimington Trophy Committee. The Rimington Trophy is given to the player deemed to be the best center in the country every season. Something that is nice for centers everywhere as they generally toil in anonymity until they launch a snap over a quarterback's head.

The list this season consists of 43 players, 13 of whom were finalists last season. The SEC leads all conferences with seven members named to the list with the Big Ten coming in second with six.

Chris Anzevino, Kent State
Eloy Atkinson, UTEP
Mario Benavides, Louisville
Philip Blake, Baylor
Ben Bojicic, Bowling Green
Colin Boss, Middle Tennessee State
Mike Brewster, Ohio State
Terence Brown, BYU
Ben Burkett, Northwestern
Thomas Byrd, Boise State
Mike Caputo, Nebraska
Nick Carlson, Wyoming
Tom Castilaw, Arkansas State
Braxton Cave, Notre Dame
Trent Dupy, Tulsa
Dillon Farrell, New Mexico
James Ferentz, Iowa
Dalton Freeman, Clemson
Kevin Galeher, Western Michigan
Grant Garner, Oklahoma State
Garth Gerhart, Arizona State
Jeremiah Hatch, Kansas
A.J. Hawkins, Mississippi
Cam Holland, North Carolina
Tyler Horn, Miami
Grant Johnson, Oregon State
T.J. Johnson, South Carolina
Ben Jones, Georgia
Peter Konz, Wisconsin
Tyler Larsen, Utah State
P.J. Lonergan, LSU
Joe Madsen, West Virginia
Kai Maiava, UCLA
Blake McJunkin, SMU
David Molk, Michigan
Brian Moore, Duke
Moe Petrus, UConn
Weston Richburg, Colorado State
Darion Smith, UAB
Matt Smith, Kentucky
Travis Swanson, Arkansas
William Vlachos, Alabama
Scott Wedige, Northern Illinois
The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or