Blog Entry

25 finalists for Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year

Posted on: December 6, 2011 4:40 pm
Edited on: January 5, 2012 12:57 pm
Posted by Jerry Hinnen

Liberty Mutual Insurance has announced the 25 finalists for the 2011 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year. Spread across all four divisions of NCAA college football, the 25 coaches were selected via fan voting at, as well as (per a National Football Foundation statement) "an objective scoring model endorsed by the College Football Hall of Fame."

"Each coach was among the top 15 in fan votes in his division to qualify for the model, which considers, among other criteria: wins, team penalties, on-field sportsmanship, academic achievement by the student-athletes, and commitment to charitable endeavors," according to the statement.

"Each of the 25 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year finalists is an example of what it means to be a true leader both on and off the field," said Archie Manning, Chairman of the National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame. Manning spoke to our Eye on NFL Pick-Six Podcast about the award and other topics.

Fans that visit can vote daily for their favorite coach between now and Dec. 22. The four winners will be announced the morning of the BCS championship game.

The finalists are:
Football Bowl Subdivision:
Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State University
Brady Hoke, University of Michigan
Mark Hudspeth, University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Mike London, University of Virginia
Les Miles, Louisiana State University
Bobby Petrino, University of Arkansas
Mark Richt, University of Georgia
Nick Saban, University of Alabama
Bill Snyder, Kansas State University
Dabo Swinney, Clemson University

Football Championship Subdivision:
Rob Ambrose, Towson University (Md.)
Rob Ash, Montana State University
Tom Gilmore, College of the Holy Cross (Mass.)
Jerry Moore, Appalachian State University
Chris Mussman, University of North Dakota

Division II:
Tim Beck, Pittsburg State University (Kan.)
Bill Maskill, Midwestern State University (Texas)
Peter Rossomando, University of New Haven (Conn.)
Scott Underwood, St. Cloud State University (Minn.)
John Wristen, Colorado State University-Pueblo

Division III:
Glenn Caruso, University of St. Thomas (Minn.)
Keith Emery, Western New England University
Steve Johnson, Bethel University (Minn.)
Lance Leipold, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
Stan Zweifel, University of Dubuque (Iowa)
Each winner will receive a $50,000 donation from Liberty Mutual to the charity or charities of his choice, as well as a $20,000 scholarship grant in their name to their school's alumni association. So, seriously, college football fans: don't forget to vote.

Since: Nov 7, 2010
Posted on: December 9, 2011 12:16 am

25 finalists for Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year

It should go to Bill Snyder. He gets more out of his players than any of the coaching finalists. K State is hardly a recruiting hotbed yet he manages to consistently outsmart his opponents. All of the other coaches on the list recruit much better talent so their records should not be all that surprising.

Since: Dec 7, 2008
Posted on: December 8, 2011 1:19 pm

25 finalists for Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year

Let me get something straight..?? If a team is ranked in the top 5 preseason ie..alabama, lsu... how did their coach do such a great job?  Aren't they right where they're suppossed to be?  Petrino moves up seven spots and is coach of the year?  Richt moves up a few is coach of the year? Really?  These 4 and a few others shouldn't even be mentioned in the same breath with Michigan, KState, and many others.  What a joke.  Liberty Mutual SEC coach of the Year is what it should be

Since: Dec 8, 2011
Posted on: December 8, 2011 11:21 am

25 finalists for Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year

Might as well give this award to Nicky boy from "Bama". Who else could coach his team up

to a second place finish in his division, not play in the SEC Champ.,game, and still play for

National Title. 

Since: Oct 20, 2011
Posted on: December 8, 2011 11:00 am

25 finalists for Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year

you got to to be a LSU one else would want Les Miles to eat their grass.

Since: Aug 24, 2007
Posted on: December 7, 2011 7:16 pm

25 finalists for Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year

Les Miles is the man. I would want Bobby Petrino doing what he's done at Arkansas, but that is somewhat Bias. The fact is even what Synder did at K State (fantastic) What Les Miles has done is speical. Most forget that he started and played several games with a backup QB who took over 1 week before the opening game against Oregon. This has been a speical year for LSU (their first 13-0 season) and Les Miles deserves the credit for putting and keeping it together. After all this award is not about the players, but the coach.

Since: Sep 25, 2011
Posted on: December 7, 2011 1:09 pm

25 finalists for Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year

How is Willie Fritz not on the list for the FCS?  He took a 6 win team from last year at Sam Houston State to a 12-0 record this year.  Wow!  This list is full of good coaches....but a list without Fritz on it is incomplete....period!

Since: Oct 30, 2011
Posted on: December 6, 2011 7:14 pm

BCS Stinks

If you are upset with the BCS call the Sugar Bowl (504 824 2440). I think it is our responsibility as college football fans to call. You can respectfully voice your thoughts. I called and can confirm they will answer

Since: Sep 23, 2011
Posted on: December 6, 2011 5:26 pm

25 finalists for Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year

Craig Bohl from NDSU deserved to be at least a finalist. What NDSU has done the past few years is pretty remarkable. Just ask University of Minnesota.

Since: Jan 6, 2008
Posted on: December 6, 2011 5:25 pm

25 finalists for Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year

Given the favoritism so far this season, I'd be willing to bet Saban wins it.

Since: Jan 21, 2007
Posted on: December 6, 2011 4:51 pm

25 finalists for Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year

As you can see looking at the Football Bowl Subdivsion nominations, there's not a one from the Pacific/Rockies region. I'd expected at least, Gary Andersen from Utah State to get a nod or maybe Dave Christensen of Wyoming. Congrats to Rob Ash of the Montana State Bobcats in the Big Sky Conference for getting a nomination.

The views expressed in this blog are solely those of the author and do not reflect the views of CBS Sports or